Offset Drops Solo Album —Talks Relationship With Cardi B, Fatherhood & More

Father of 4 is here!

Offset dropped his debut solo album on Friday (February 22), and it's very clear it's his most vulnerable work to date.

If the title of the album isn't a big enough hint, Offset's long-awaited album is a project dedicated to his four children — Jordan, 9, Kody, 3, Kalea, 3, and Kulture, 7 months. In a recent interview with Esquire, Offset opened up about the personal project, explaining how he incorporated stories of his childhood, fatherhood, and his journey thorough life's toughest moments throughout the album. "I cried to myself while I was doing this album ’cause I was talking about my story and my kids," he explained. "When I did a song, I started getting memories of my grandma, my struggles, my partner that was killed, the thoughts I had while I was incarcerated, and my kids’ faces were there in my head. I love my kids, this is who I do it for."

Also on the album, which he deemed "a masterpiece," Offset talks about his marriage to Cardi B. While he was shy to discuss their rekindled relationship — the two recently got back together after calling it quits in December — with Esquire, he did give an update on their status following their recent appearance at the 2019 Grammy Awards. "It’s been good," he admitted. "We’re being more open to each other, raising our baby and taking things slowly."

While the project may be a different sound than Offset fans are use to — he's known for his uptempo, club bangers — the Migos rapper said he's not at all concerned that it will alienate listeners. "F**k all that stream sh*t because I don't do music for money. It's my heart," he said. "This is what I believe in. It's my creativity and I do it for the people."

Ahead of the album's release, Offset shared a behind the scenes video of him shooting the cover of the project, which features him and his four children. "BEHIND THE SCENE OF THE COVER SHOOT WAS A DADDY MAYHAM BUT WE GOT IT DONE FATHER OF 4 MIDNIGHT," the proud dad captioned the video.

Father of 4 Track List:

  1. "Father Of 4" featuring Big Rube
  2. "How Did I Get Here" featuring J. Cole
  3. "Lick"
  4. "Tats On My Face"
  5. "Made Men"
  6. "Wild Wild West" featuring Gunna
  7. "North Star" featuring CeeLo Green
  8. "After Dark"
  9. "Don’t Lose Me"
  10. "Underrated"
  11. "Legacy" featuring Travis Scott & 21 Savage
  12. "Clout" featuring Cardi B
  13. "On Fleek" featuring Quavo
  14. "Quarter Milli" featuring Gucci Mane
  15. "Red Room"
  16. "Came A Long Way"

Photo: Getty Images

Sponsored Content

Sponsored Content

Jamn 957 · San Diego's Hip Hop and R&B Radio Station - Jammin 95.7 On The Air Waves
Listen Now on iHeartRadio